A Quiche Story:

My friend’s brother-in-law went off to college. He walked into the cafeteria, and he checked out the menu board.

He said to the man behind the counter:

“Um, I’ll try some of that Qwee-Chee”

The man behind the counter responded:

“Qwee-Chee? QWEE-CHEE? That’s QUICHE FOOL!”

And that is what I think of every time I make my weekly quiche.

This week’s quiche is GOOD. My main man and I agree it is in the top five of all time. Or at least the top five of the past five weeks.

Oven at 400 degrees.

Let’s fry some bacon, shall we? I hope you are beginning to believe me when I say that bacon and cheese are life necessities for me.

Hello, Lover.

Now, the basics for any quiche. Eggs (used 8 this week), half and half or cream (I used the less fattening this week- feeling very disciplined), and some cheese.

Some sharp cheddar goodness.

Then, I opened my fridge and saw this bowl of goodness:

This is The Pioneer Woman’s Pico de Gallo. I was not surprised to see it in my fridge. Since I discovered this recipe, we have had a steady stream of Pico in our house.

I put it on everything. I use it as a salad dressing, put it on a sandwich, eat it on a chip, take a bath in it.

Make some right now. You’ll never survive in life without it.

Crack your eggs, add about a 1/4 cup of cream or the half and half, and put a little bit of salt and pepper on top.

Oh, hey there random half of a green pepper looking so lonely on my fridge shelf. Do you want to join the party?

You do?

Ok, you’re in.

Several heaping spoons of pico- I dunno, maybe a cup and half?

I told you I loved the stuff.

Chop up your bacon- 6 pieces or so. And add in 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar.

Now, whip it. Whip it good.

Throw it into a 9 inch circular pan that has been non-stick sprayed.

Now, into the oven. I set the timer for 20 minutes, and it was not at all set in the middle, so I left it in for another 10 minutes.

It turned out perfect.

Mmmm… I love the little bit of crispiness around the edges of the crust.

Making your morning better, the quiche.

Or Qwee-Chee. Call it what you like.

Yum-a-Lum-a-Ding-Dong,

Leah

