I love breakfast. It seems to be the most appropriate time to eat bacon, and you know I love the bacon.

What I don’t love is a rushed breakfast on a work day. I loathe cold cereal. One, I’m hungry again after an hour. And two, cold cereal is not very fun.

To keep myself happy and motivated to get up in the morning, I have gotten into the habit of making a crustless quiche on Sunday night. I cook it and then pop it into the fridge, and then Brad and I heat up a slice each morning of the work week.

I change it up every week, and I thought I’d share this weeks eggy delectable delight.

What you’ll need:

The eggs, half & half, and some sort of cheese are what is crucial to a quiche. Everything else can be altered to suit your liking.

This week I used:

-6 eggs

-1/4 c. half and half

-1/4 c. cheddar

-1 tomato

-2 cups of chopped spinach

-1 portobello mushroom cap (threw this guy in at the last minute, so he’s not pictured above)

-1 green onion

-6 slices of bacon

-a tiny bit of feta

Lets get this party started. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Now, my favorite part. Lets fry BACON!

You have no idea what this does to me.

Chop the onion, mushroom, and spinach. Chop the tomato in half and squeeze out all of the seeds, and then chop ‘er up.

In the meantime, drain the bacon. BUT, leave a bit of the grease in the pan- 1 t. or so. Throw in your mushrooms, and let them cook a bit.

Now, add the spinach to wilt it down.

While the spinach wilts, crack your eggs. I used 2 egg whites and 4 full eggs. And then add in the half and half.

Whisk it up, and then start throwing in all of the ingredients- the vegetables and the cheddar. Stir it up, little darling.

Now, put a little nonstick spray into a 9 inch round pan and pour your mixture in. Then, top with a little bit of feta. If you’re feeling crazy, sprinkle a bit of salt and pepper on the whole darn thing.

Throw it in the oven for 25 minutes. To ensure the quiche is finished, give it a little shimmy shake. It it isn’t completely set, put it back in the oven for another 3-4 minutes.

Now, THIS is the kind of breakfast that can get me outta bed in the morning.

Yum. Yum. Yum.

Leah

