In the words of my friend Annie, OH. DEAR. GUSSIE.

This is my all-time favorite, go-to burger. It is so good. So, so good. It is what I like to call a life changer. I’m not even exaggerating.

I know there are some burger traditionalists out there, and I assure you I am not one of them- nor is this recip. I do respect and honor and offer to eat any traditionalist’s burgers… anytime!

What you’ll need:

Ground Beef- the best burgers come from 80/20 beef. I rarely indulge on that kind of fat content, so here I’m using 85/15. Still not great for you, but you need the fat for the flava.

Cheese- about an ounce per burger. I’m using blue cheese and brie today.

Bacon- about a slice per burger

Onion- 1 medium sized onion will do for 6 burgers

Salt and Pepper

Cook the bacon. This is my favorite part of any recipe. The cooking and smelling and tasting of the crispy meat candy.

Wipe the drool off of your chin.

Drain all but on teaspoon of the fat from the skillet.

Chop your onion pretty finely and drop it in the pan.

Let it get all sweet and caramelized. I’m drooling. Seriously.

.

Put your cheese in some bowls large enough to accommodate their buddies, bacon and onion.

Blue Cheese and super soft and creamy Brie

Some day, I’ll go into my extreme love affair with cheese. But for now, back to burgers.

Chop up the bacon, and add that and the cooked onion to the cheese. Separate the bacon and onion evenly between two cheeses. Or throw it all together. I don’t really care.

Now, get yer meat ready.

Wait. What? Did someone say meat?

This is when my sous chefs finally show up. Slackers.

Beef in a bowl, add a t. of salt, 1/2 t. of pepper. I was feeling crazy, so I also added a couple of dashes of hot sauce and worcestershire.

I think raw beef is kinda gross looking too. Not as much as chicken, but still kind of gross. Ah well, stick your hands in anyway and mix it up.

Now, this is the hardest part of the recipe. But, I believe it you. You can do it!

Take a hunka meat (approx 1/4 lb) and make a little well for the filling.

Take a scoop of that delicious meat candy, carmelized onion, cheesy goodness mixture and put that in your well.

Now fold up the ends. And make sure that there are no holes for the cheese to escape.

Fold up the other sides, and finish forming it into a patty. Easy Peasy.

Now, hand off your burgers to your desired grill master. In our house, that is Brad.

Grill over hot coals- approximately 3 minutes on each side.

A burger CAN and WILL be ruined by bad bread. I think if you are going to do a burger stuffed with bacon and cheese, you might as well indulge in a grilled white delicious bun. My most wonderful husband took a special trip to the grocery just for these buddies. Oh Sweet Sassy.

Put a little mater on there, and maybe some lettuce. It really doesn’t need much.

Ooey, gooey.

Beefy, juicy, and a little cheesy. Just like I like my men.

This one is maaaaaaaaad that she hung around all through prep, and she didn’t get a single morsel of meaty goodness dropped her way.

Yum-a-lum-a-ding-dong,

Leah

