It’s Saturday night! In celebration of Summer and Saturday, I give you my favorite drinks.

First up, the non-alcoholic beverage of choice for Summer 2010:

LaCroix Sparkling Water, Berry Flavor. It is a dance-on-your-tongue delectable delight. AND, it is calorie free, sugar free, carb free, and sodium free. However, I promise you that it is NOT flavor free. I absolutely love the stuff.

Aaaaaaaah. There are lots o’ flavors available at most regular grocery stores in the water/sparkling water aisle. Berry happens to be my favorite, but Lemon, Lime, and Grapefruit are all délicieux.

See what I did there? French. You know, like La Croix. Har, Har. Thanks Google for the translation.

Now, while LaCroix is lovely with my lunch at work or after a good workout, it doesn’t quite fit the bill for me on a fine sunny Saturday evening. For that, I like a sparkly little number based on the classic cocktail, French 75.

French 75 was introduced to me by my dearly beloved friend, Allie. The classic drink calls for gin, and I just don’t really groove on gin. HOWEVER, I do like brandy, and in this drink- oh sweet sassy.

So, here’s what you need for the drink:

Gin or Brandy or even Vodka, you know I like having options!

Lemon

Powdered Sugar

Champagne or a Sparkling Wine

Ice

First, you put some ice in a cocktail shaker. Or, just put it in the glass. Lets be honest, I rarely use the shaker… except for when I’m feeling dangerous.

Then, 1 1/2 ounces of your boozey booze.

Oh boy. Come to mama.

Now, onto lemony goodness -1 1/2 ounces of lemon juice. Usually, about one whole lemon’s worth of juice.

Now those two ingredients together are tasty, but very tart. We need some sugar.

I think you are really supposed to use superfine sugar, but I don’t have any of that fancy pants stuff. So, I like powdered sugar. It is superfiner than even the superfine, and yes I know superfiner isn’t really a word. Powdered sugar magically melts into any cocktail. So, lets add 2 teaspoons.

Give it a shimmy shake. I find it best to do this part of the cocktail making to music.

Now pour it into your glass. I’ve seen this drink served in both a champagne glass and a martini glass. I think I favor the champagne glass. It preserves the fizz a little better.

Now for the fun part, top off glass with some sparkling wine or champagne. Fun fact: Champagne is only Champagne if it is from the Champagne region of france. Everything else that bubbles is a sparkling wine. And the real stuff? Its usually pretty pricey.

You can garnish the glass with an orange slice or a maraschino cherry. I like mine straight up.

Sweet, Tart, Cold, Bubbly Perfection.

Happy Saturday Night all.

I’m off to enjoy the evening, and perhaps a cocktail or two.

Leah Out.

