Books. Oh how I love thee. I do not think there is much better in life than getting completely lost in a story. I have been tearing through books this summer. The biggest surprise hit for me has been this book, The Pillars of the Earth.

I know I’m about 20 years behind in discovering this gem, but when it came out in 1989 I was far too concerned about getting the perfect tight roll on my jeans. I could not be concerned with a 900+ page book about building a cathedral in the 1800s. I know it sounds boring, but I assure you… It. Is. Not.

Ken Follett is fictional master.  Every chapter has me flipping pages as fast as I can to find out what happens to Tom Builder, Prior Philip, and Aliena. There is violence, love, fear, hope, and triumph in every chapter. I haven’t quite finished it, and I’m dreading the end of the story because I will miss my character friends. Does that make me a crazy person?

If you are like me and have somehow missed this book, pick it up. You will not regret it. I promise.

Over and out-

Book Nerd

