I think I have posted this recipe before, but I’m too lazy to look for it.

I’m sure you won’t mind if I share it again, will you?

Well, if you do mind… then just stop reading now, and go about your merry way.

Lentils.

They are mysterious. They are filling. They are sexy. They are delicious. 3 out of those 4 statements are true.

Lentils have high levels of folate and magnesium- heart healthy stuff! Lentils also have lots and lots of fiber that help keep that blood sugar regular while lowering cholesterol. They are full of iron and B vitamins, and finally protein makes up 26% of the calories in lentils (3rd highest level of protein of any food!). So, in a nutshell (or a legume shell, in this case), lentils are good for you.

Know what else? Lentils are CHEAPY, CHEAP, CHEAP, CHEAP!

You’ll find lentils in the rice aisle at the grocery store- they come in all sorts of colors including brown, green, red, tan, etc. These poor buddies are usually on the lowly bottom shelf in a plastic bag. They are so pathetic looking- won’t you give them some love?

Finally, if I haven’t sold you yet lentils are super easy to make and they are similar to chicken in that they take on the flavors that you give them.

Get out a pot and pour in some lentils (1/4 c. is a serving size, and I usually make about 1 1/2 c. at a time). Cover those lentils with water, and boil them until they are al dente.

They will eventually turn to mush, just like pasta, so don’t overdo it on the cooking.

Oh, did I mention that the measly 1/4 c. dry serving gives you 10 g of protein.

Go ahead with your bad self, lentil.

Once they are cooked to the texture of your liking, drain the lentils (again, I like a little more chew to it than cooked pasta would have).

Add in 1-2 T. of barbecue sauce.

Um. Your done.

I told you it was easy.

I either add these to a salad or I eat them in a wrap.

In this wrap, I also include a little more BBQ sauce, some pickled jalapeños and some sliced grape tomatoes.

Lets take a moment now to acknowledge how awesome I am at taking pictures of red things.

Pretty awesome.

Further proof that I am a total amateur with a camera.

This boy loves him some lentils.

And even though he isn’t eating them in this picture, please believe me that he endorses this lovely legume!

I hope you are enjoying your veggie consumption.
If you aren’t enjoying it, then I hope at a bare minimum it is at least making you regular.
Sorry, I couldn’t help myself.
Have a good one!
XO,
Leah