Oatmeal.

Blah. Boring. Bland. Bleck.

Or is it?

Cue mysterious music.

The truth is that I would much rather have a giant bowl of Lucky Charms over oatmeal any day, but that just isn’t a smart move. I think I would be a diabetic by the time my next birthday rolled around if I did that, but those fake little hard marshmallows are delicious.

My friend Liz corrected my oatmeal course not too long ago… she told me about all of the different ways she would doctor up her oatmeal, and it became a fun little experiment to come up with new delicious concoctions.

I eat the heart healthy serving of oatmeal- 3/4 c. of dry oats. That is 1.5 servings of whole grain (so if you are counting, we’re up to 2.5 servings of whole grains for the day after the green smoothie). 3/4 c. of dry oats also gives you 9- count ‘em- NINE g of protein. I usually include 1/4 c. of raw unsalted almonds in my oatmeal, and those are 5 g. of protein.

That means, with no animal product we are up to 29.5 grams of protein after breakfast(s) alone. That is about half of my daily required protein intake.

Let’s just take a moment to acknowledge that oatmeal doesn’t taste nearly as delicious as a heaping pile of bacon. Or waffles. Or tater tot casserole, and I want to be clear that I believe there is a time and a place for that level of breakfast deliciousness.

However, if we are talking healthy choices that provide nutritional benefit, oatmeal is a solid choice.

Up first- and appropriate for the start of the fall-ish season, is pumpkin pie oatmeal.

3/4 c. quick cooking oats (again, I go for organic here)

Add in 1 1/2 t. of pumpkin pie spice- or if you are like me and don’t have that stuff because you have never made a pumpkin pie in your life, add in 1 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. ground cloves, 1/4 t. nutmeg (or whatever you have on hand).

Cover that with water, and microwave for 1 1/2 minutes.

;
Then get out your pumpkin. I use pumpkin in from a can- NOT pumpkin pie filling. Canned pumpkin is one of the best values in the grocery store, in my humble opinion. Think of all the work you would have to do to procure just 1/4 cup of puréed pumpkin.

Canned pumpkin is usually found in the baking aisle at the store, not in the canned fruit/vegetable area. Riddle me that. I also add in a little (1/2 t) of vanilla and a squirt of agave nectar.

Mix it up and sprinkle on 1/4 c of raw, sliced almonds.

So good! I promise that you’ll love it- I think!!

If pumpkin isn’t your jam, how about a little Apple Raisin Cinnamon deliciousness?

In this version, I start with 3/4 c of oats. Add in 1/2 of a peeled apple chopped. Throw in 1/4 c of raisins or craisins or dried cherries, and top it off with a generous dash of cinnamon and 1/4 c of your almonds.

Cover that with water and microwave for 1 1/2 minutes.

I was feeling naughty so I topped this one off with a sprinkle of brown sugar.

At the beginning of the week, I put all of the dried ingredients for these oatmeal treats in Ziploc baggies so they are easy to grab as I run out the door or work.

On the mornings that I start my day with a green smoothie at about 7:30, I’m ready for my oatmeal around 10 or 10:30.

Hope you are all having a better start to your Saturday than I am. I’m in the waiting room at a doctor’s office. I just wrote this entire blog post on my phone (please or give any misspellings) while waiting my turn.

Fun!

Enjoy your oats.

Have a great weekend!

XO,
Leah

